"Clinical research is a pivotal component of the knowledge economy of South Africa. South Africans from all sectors - including academia, industry, statutory regulatory affairs, and government - need to join hands in fostering progress and productivity in this field in order to achieve a better life for all"


To learn more about the National Health Research Committee (NHRC) visit the following website: http://www.nhrc.org.za


Statement by Prof Bongani Mayosi, Chairperson of the National Health Research Committee.


Bongani Mayosi is the Professor of Medicine and Head of the Department of Medicine at Groote Schuur Hospital and University of Cape Town. He qualified in medicine from the University of KwaZulu-Natal in Durban, and trained in internal medicine and cardiology in Cape Town. He worked under Hugh Watkins as a Nuffield Oxford Medical Fellow in cardiovascular medicine at the University of Oxford from 1998 to 2001.


His research interests include genetics of cardiovascular traits, treatment of tuberculous pericarditis, and prevention of rheumatic fever. He is the President of the College of Physicians of South Africa, Chairman of the National Health Research Committee, Vice President of the Pan African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR) and Chairman of the Rheumatic Fever Council of the World Heart Federation. In November 2009, President Jacob Zuma bestowed upon him South Africa’s highest honour, the Order of Mapungubwe in Silver, for excellent achievements in medical science.